First Blog! – My Lupus Story

Hi Guys,

This has pretty much been a long time coming, I’ve decided to start writing a Blog!

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Rachel and I have been diagnosed with Lupus. I was diagnosed 2 months after my 21st birthday in February 2010 with Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE), Discoid Lupus (Affects skin and hair) and less than two years later was also diagnosed with Lupus Nephritis (Affects the kidneys).

No it doesn’t run my family and No I hadn’t heard of lupus before.

I was around 19 years old when I started feeling different. I would go on a night out with friends and the next day my joints would be stiff or swollen. I started eating less, I had no appetite and I was losing weight without trying. My hair started falling out and I was tired, like all of the time! As my symptoms got worse I saw different Doctors who had all different reasons for my joint pain; my birth control weren’t agreeing with me, my diet, not getting enough rest, drinking and partying too much! I heard it all. One day after searching online, I diagnosed myself with Rheumatoid Arthritis and marched straight into my Dr office and told them and you know what? They agreed. No tests, they just said ok and put me on medication. Of course it didn’t work.

I then started getting rashes all over my arms and legs and chest and at first I thought I was allergic to something but as it got worse again I went to the Dr who told me it was Eczema. Eczema! I had never had it in my life and the Dr said, “you must have but don’t remember”, so gave me a cream for dry skin and that was that.

Things got worse after my 21st, I had a huge party and couldn’t move for 3 days afterwards as I was swollen all over. By then I had had countless infections including urine, ulcers, tooth infections. I looked terrible, I had to take a break out of uni during my final year, I wasn’t working, no motivation, no sex drive. I was miserable.

One day the Dr invited me in for a chat and explained to me that after looking at some of my blood results they think it may not actually be Arthritis, erm no sh*t Sherlock! They wanted to refer me to the rheumatologist at the local hospital. However I would have to wait roughly 6 weeks, at the same time as he was speaking, my mother called me and I told her what he said. Straight away she booked me in with a private hospital that same night to see a rheumatologist and in 40 minutes, yes 40 minutes, I was diagnosed with SLE and admitted in to hospital that same night.

It took over 2 years for me to be diagnosed and I was only diagnosed so easily because by then I had so many different symptoms. Whilst I was relived, I was scared this was new to me. I looked up Lupus and read about miscarriages, organ failure…..death. I’m a firm believer in prayer but at this point, prayer just seem worthless.

Since being diagnosed with Lupus I have taken, steroids (prednisolone), Hydoroxychloroquine plaquenil, ibuprofen, co-codamol, tramadol, azathriopine, mycophenolate mofetil, asprin, Rituximab and methotrexate. I’ve also had B12 shots, taken iron tablets and I take Vitamin D and Calcium. I am now only on some if these but I’ll save my medication journey for another blog.

What I want to say is now 5 years on from being diagnosed, I graduated with a 2:1 degree in English Literature and Creative Writing, I have a full time job as a Employment Advisor for a large charity, and I support long term unemployed people into work. I married the love of my life in 2013 and I’m in the mist of purchasing my first house. I battle with Lupus still and but I live and I actually live a good life. I feel a lot better now and I want to share how I do it and connect with others who go through anything tough.

There’s a way to live you life and be happy.

Thanks for reading.

Rachel

Lupus Gurl

First Blog! – My Lupus Story

21 thoughts on “First Blog! – My Lupus Story

  1. sandra says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this first stage of journey of begin diagnosed with Lupus, look forward to reading your next blog. Well done on all your achievements and not giving up on hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely understand what it is like. I was diagnosed with Lupus back in 2012. I had struggled with health issues for years before I was diagnosed. You are truly an inspiration. Thanks for sharing your story with us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Monique says:

    Hi LupusGurl, thank-you so much for having the strength and courage to share your story with THE ENTIRE WORLD, LOL!! Feel proud of yourself 😀 I, too, have SLE diagnosed aged 25, developed Lupus Nephritis in 2011. I too have had a similar cocktail of meds to what you have. Please continue to write from the <3, and we will continue to read from ours, as well! I look forward to the next installment!! God Bless!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Monique says:

        Cant Wait! Ive also shared your page on the Lupus Support Group page I run online,so others can support your blog. FB Name, Enfield Lupus Support Group…drop by sometime. Keep Well, and Keep Blogging! xx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Samira says:

    yeah I know what you’re talking about you know I have SLE lupus myself and I had a stroke when I was 9 years old then I had seizures and everything when I had a stroke I was in a coma for 11 days then I woke up out of it and I didn’t know my mom didn’t know how to write didn’t know how to walk I was paralyzed on my right side so I had to go therapy for 4 years during that time being when I was 12 day my family decided todid California so I could be out here and in that time being they were giving me the wrong medications and everything’s still didn’t know what it was afterwards I went toUCLA Harbor hospital and finally found out that I was having SLE I had seizures 41 pounds when I was 12 years old. I am having a flare ups everything I just mess me up.. just name it it was there you know and I finally found outana what’s up thing that I had seizures after seizures they finally controlled it when I was in my mid-thirties but then I have now 40% of asthma and osteoporosis and I’m dealing with those things besides the Lupus so I know what you’re talking aboutnow I’m 43 and I’m still doing with this but knowing that God’s there with me I’m still blessed that I’m still alive thanks for sharing on your testimony also bye and thank for reading about mines

    Like

  5. Lucianna Boye Thompson says:

    Well done for doing this Rachie, as u can see people, including myself are inspired by ur openess. Love u always girl and I cant wait for the next. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Keli phillips says:

    I think GPs have a tough time with conditions like Lupus as they are expected to know so much about every conceivable disease it’s almost impossible for them to get it right first time. My lupus was diagnosed by a dermatologist whom I was seeing about a malignant melanoma I had. On one appointment I had, he took a look at a rash I had on my face and immediately said I think you have lupus and he was right, but only because he was trained to look out for these things. I think with awareness GPs will be able to have the knowledge to be more accurate with lupus diagnoses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I hope so. The problem with lupus is there are soo many elements to it. Some never get a rash, others never have kidney issues etc. Mine was only diagnosed because I had so many symptoms at one time. As more people become aware of it hopefully it will be diagnosed quicker and hopefully one day healed x

      Like

  7. LG, Thank you so much for sharing your lupus story and perspective on the importance of faith in coping with lupus victoriously. There is no other Great Physician that compares to Christ! I will look forward to reading about your continuing adventures. LA

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment